USGSid.gif (414 bytes)

NY/NY Bathymetric/Topographic Data Integration Project Meeting

November 15, 2000
NOAA, Silver Spring, Maryland

  Participants
bullet_p.gif (922 bytes)   Program / Summary
  Accomplishments and Anticipated Products
  Web Links


PARTICIPANTS

Name Agency Phone E-mail

Maureen Kenny

NOAA/Coast Survey Development Laboratory

301 713 2801 x 122

maureen.kenny@noaa.gov

Kurt Hess

NOAA/NOS/CSDL

301 713 2801 x123

kurt.hess@noaa.gov

Jeff Williams

USGS/Woods Hole MA

508 457 2383

Jwilliams@usgs.gov

Frank Manheim

USGS/Reston VA

703 648 6150

fmanheim@usgs.gov

Dennis Milbert

NOAA/NOS/NGS

301 713 3222

dennis.milbert@noaa.gov

Russ Berry

USGS/Mapping Applications

703 648 5512

rberry@usgs.gov

Roger Amato

MMS/Intermar

703 787 1282

roger.amato@mms.gov

Robby Wilson

NOAA/NOS

301 713 2645 x 205

robert.wilson@noaa.gov

Andrew Morang

USACE/ Coastal and Hydraulics Laboratory

601 634 2064

moranga@wes.army.mil

William Danforth

USGS/Woods Hole MA

508 457 2274

bdanforth@usgs.gov

Lynn Hardegree

USACE/Mobile/Spatial Data

334 694 3778

lynn.c.hardegree@sam.usace.army.mil

Jennifer Wozencraft

USACE/Mobile/Spatial Data

334 690 3466

jennifer.m.wozencraft@sam.usace.army.mil

Noriko Shoji

NOAA/NOS/CO-OPS

301 713 2890 x174

noriko.shoji@noaa.gov

Scott Duncan

NOAA/NOS/CO-OPS

301 7134 2890 x171

scott.duncan@noaa.gov

Bruce Parker

NOAA/NOS/CSDL

301 713 2801 x 121

bruce.parker@noaa.gov

Jack Wallace

NOAA/NOS/OCS Staff

301 713 2780 x 155

jack.wallace@noaa.gov

Jon Bailey

NOAA/NOS/NGS/RSD

301 713 2663 x 160

jon.bailey@noaa.gov

George S. Sharman    NOAA 303 497-6345 gssharman@ngdc.noaa.gov

Curt Loy

NOAA/NOS/CSDL

301 713 2650 x 180

curtis.loy@noaa.gov

 


Skip past Page Links TOP | PARTICIPANTS | PROGRAM | ACCOMPLISHMENTS | WEB LINKS | HOME


PROGRAM
Location: NOAA, SSMC3, Room 7836, 1315 East West Highway, Silver Spring, MD, 90210
Convener:
Maureen Kenny, 301-713-2801 x 122, Maureen.Kenny@noaa.gov

0900 -  Introduction - Maureen Kenny (NOAA)
Overview, Logistics, Introductions - Frank Manheim (USGS)
0915 -  NY/NJ Data Set Review: (overview of type of data, horizontal and vertical datums, density, format, etc.)
NOAA Hydrographic Surveys - Robby Wilson (NOAA) USACE LIDAR and Analog Data - Andy Morang (USACE)
USGS Multibeam Data - Bill Danforth (USGS)
USGS Topography - Dean Gesch (USGS)
USACE Coastal Studies - Jennifer Wozencraft (USACE)
1015 -  Overview of Tampa Bay Demo Project - Bruce Parker (NOAA)
1030 -  Break
1040 -  Hydrodynamic Modeling - Kurt Hess (NOAA)
Discussion of methods to transform data in water areas between tidal datums and geoidal datums
and problems that will be encountered working on an open coast like NY/NJ
1120 -  Datum Transformations and Issues - Dennis Milbert (NOAA)
Definitions
Available tools
Problems with tying ellipsoid, geoid, and water level datums
Ellipsoidal concerns
1220 -  Lunch
1320 -  Tampa Bay Bathy/Topo Data - Dean Gesch (USGS), Robby Wilson (NOAA)
A discussion of issues and problems encountered when merging data sets
1400 -  Mobile Bay Spatial Data Development - Lynn Hardegree (USACE, Mobile)

Open discussion of problems that may be encountered with NY/NJ data sets; viewing posters.


Skip past Page Links TOP | PARTICIPANTS | PROGRAM | ACCOMPLISHMENTS | WEB LINKS | HOME


MEETING ACCOMPLISHMENTS AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTS:

* Rob Wilson (NOAA, Silver Spring, completed integration, correction and annotation of NOAA hydrographic data sets for the entire NY Bight. The data set awaits datum correction (see below)

* Kurt Hess completed a "V-Datum" datum correction system, based on the NOAA-USGS Tampa Bay developments. It is currently under review, and will permit correction of the hydrographic data.

* Andrew Morang completed a CD ROM on LIDAR bathymetry on the S. Shore of Long Island from Moriches to Shinnecock Inlet. (SHOALS hydrographic LIDAR survey data, Moriches to Shinnecock Inlets, Long Island, New York, July 2000)

* An updated short-form metadata spreadsheet for data and reports from the NY Bight area is available [NY_NJMetadata]. The new short, two-level (tabbed) metadata system encodes tucks in over 120 data sets of various types. It includes examples of reports from USACE's NY District archives (courtesy Chris Rasmussen) and EPA CD ROMs (courtesy of Doug Pabst, EPA, Region II). The spreadsheet system (with tabs) introduces bathymetry as a new category.

* Brad Butman and Laurie Serett (USGS, Woods Hole) are building a NY Bight web site providing images, maps and information on available reports, including geophysical and GIS coverage. It is expected to be opened in the next month.

* Rich Signell (USGS, Woods Hole) completed datum correction routines for USGS swath bathymetry data with emphasis on the HARS area. Special models written in Matlab (MES files) allow correction for changes in water level due to wind forcing. Interested persons may contact Signell, who is on leave, at rsignell@saclantc.nato.int.


Skip past Page Links TOP | PARTICIPANTS | PROGRAM | ACCOMPLISHMENTS | WEB LINKS | HOME


WEB LINKS:

http://www.nan.usace.army.mil/business/buslinks/geo-gis/index.htm    - Geospatial Data and Systems Activities in the New York District, USACE.

ftp://spo.nos.noaa.gov/datasets/CADS/GIS_Files/ShapeFiles/bathy/matl_points/   - NOAA Site for digital downloads of coastline, bathymetric and other files including southern LI and other coastal areas within NY Bight area

http://seaserver.nos.noaa.gov/   - a server providing a gateway to NOAA NOS maps, shoreline and estuarine bathymetry files, which include data pertinent to the NY Bight region


  Sediments Homepage