Building a Community System for Coastal Sediment-Transport Modeling
September 29 - October 2, 2002

Jump to project page.
NOPP logo and link to home page
Skip past contents information

Summary

Agenda

List of Plenary Presentations

Presenter Affiliation Title
John Allen Oregon State –Research issues in modeling shelf circulation”
     
Hans Burchard Baltic Sea Research Institute –Two-equation turbulence models for boundary layer flows”
     
Bruce Ebersole U.S. Army Corps of Engineers –Coastal sediment transport and morphology change modeling: Corps of Engineers applications, model development, and supporting R&D”
     
Kevin J. Farley1, Alan Blumberg2, Darin Damiani2, Robin Miller2, Pravi Shrestha2, James Wands2 1Manhattan College Riverdale, 2HydroQual, Inc. –The use of sediment transport models in contaminant evaluations”
     
Earl J. Hayter EPA, National Exposure Research Laboratory –Requirements for coastal sediment transport model: EPA perspective”
     
Mary Hill U.S. Geological Survey –Experiences with MODFLOW, the ground-water community model”
     
J. Dungan Smith U.S. Geological Survey and University of Colorado –Lessons from fluvial sediment transport”
     
Gary Taghon Rutgers –Particle transport in the coastal ocean - biological considerations”
     
L. Donelson Wright VIMS –Coastal ocean observing programs: a status report”

Back to top

List of Posters Presented

Presenter Title
   
Meinte Blaas, Patrick Marchesiello, Jim C. McWilliams, Christopher R. Sherwood, Keith D. Stolzenbach "Towards modeling sediment transport on the Southern Californian shelves"
   
Tom Chisholm, David Jay "Suspended sediment composition and a two-component aggregation model"
   
Claude Estournal, Patrick Marsaleix, Francis Auclair, Claire Julliand, Raoul Vehil, Caroline Ulses –Modelling the circulation and sediment transport in the Gulf of Lion (Northwestern Mediterranean)”
   
John Hamrick "Modeling of noncohesive sediment transport and bed deformation during unsteady flow in a bend using EFDC"
   
Scott C. James, Jesse D. Roberts, Richard A. Jepsen "Measurements of sediment erosion and bedload fraction with the ASSET flume"
   
T.A. Kniskern, S.A. Kuehl –Sediment mixing in the York River Estuary: geochemical observations”
   
Jing Lin, Harry V. Wang "Sediment transport modeling in Upper Chesapeake Bay"
   
Nugzar Margvelashvili "Numerical model of sediment and dissolved material transport in water column and sediment bed (MECOSED)"
   
Elizabeth W. North, Shenn-Yu Chao, Lawrence P. Sanford, Raleigh Hood "Modeling a Chesapeake-like ETM using an enhanced version of POM: the influences of wind and river pulses"
   
Nathaniel G. Plant "Inverting sediment transport from observed bathymetric changes"
   
Malcolm E. Scully, Carl T. Friedrichs "Comparison of modeling results with observations of gravity-driven mud transport and deposition on the mid-shelf of the Eel River continental margin"
   
Pravi Shrestha, Alan Blumberg, Dilhara Kaluarachichi, Honghai Li, Hector Laguette "Sediment stability in a shallow lake"
   
Alejandro Souza, Jason Holt, Roger Proctor, Mike Ashworth "SPM modeling using POLCOMS"
   
John C. Warner, Chris R. Sherwood, Bradford Butman, Hernan Arango, Richard P. Signell –Regional ocean modeling system (ROMS) À coastal sediment transport model test cases and applications”
   
Doug Wilson, Tom Chisholm, David Jay "A self-organization model of ripple formation"

Back to top

List of Video Presentations

Name Affiliation Topic
John Allen Oregon State Simulation of nearshore circulation (comparison to Duck, N.C.)
     
Hernan Arango Rutgers ROMS/TOMS: Simulating spatial and temporal oceanic variability
     
Hans Burchard Baltic Sea Research Institute  
     
Diane Foster Ohio State Small scale sediment transport
     
John Hamrick Tetra Tech Simulation of flow in a bend using EFDC
     
Courtney Harris VIMS Adding sediment and waves into the Navy Coastal Ocean Model (NCOM)
     
Rob Hetland Texas A & M Simulation of flow from the Mississippi and in the Gulf of Maine
     
Scott James Sandia National Labs Movie showing erosion of sediment core in the lab
     
Li, Yuepeng VIMS Hydrodynamic simulation using UnTRIM (unstructured grid model)
     
Jing Lin VIMS Sediment transport modeling in Upper Chesapeake Bay
     
Larry Sanford University of Maryland Modeling the Chesapeake Bay estuarine turbidity maximum (ETM) with the Princeton Ocean Model (POM)
     
Pravi Shrestha Hydroqual Simulation of sediment transport in Lavaca Bay
     
Alejandro Souza Proudman Oceanographic Lab Simulation of flow in the North Atlantic near Ireland
     
Art Trembanis VIMS Demonstration of the capabilities of 3D visualization
     
John Warner U.S. Geological Survey Implementation and applications of a generic length scale "two-equation" turbulence closure with the numerical ocean model ROMS

Back to top

List of Attendees

Name Affiliation Email
Alexander, Soupy U.S. Geological Survey palexander@usgs.gov
Allen, John Oregon State jallen@oce.orst.edu
Arango, Hernan Rutgers arango@imcs.rutgers.edu
Beach, Reggie CORE rbeach@CoreOcean.org
Blaas, Meinte UCLA blaas@atmos.ucla.edu
Blumberg, Alan Hydroqual afb@hydroqual.com
Burchard, Hans Baltic Sea Research Institute burchard@ifm.uni-hamburg.de
Butman, Brad U.S. Geological Survey bbutman@usgs.gov
Chisholm, Tom Oregon Graduate Institute chisholm@ese.ogi.edu
Drake, Tom Office of Naval Research Thomas_Drake@onr.navy.mil
Ebersole, Bruce U.S. Army Corps of Engineers ebersob@wes.army.mil
Ertman, Stephen Hydroqual sertman@hydroqual.com
Estournel, Claude Laboratoire d' Aerologie, Toulouse estc@aero.obs-mip.fr
Farley, Kevin Manhattan College Riverdale kevin.farley@manhattan.edu
Foster, Diane Ohio State foster.316@osu.edu
Friedrichs, Carl VIMS cfried@vims.edu
Fugate, David VIMS undave@vims.edu
Geyer, Rocky WHOI rgeyer@whoi.edu
Gross, Tom NOAA tom.gross@noaa.gov
Hamrick, John Tetra Tech john.hamrick@tetratech-ffx.com
Hanes, Dan U.S. Geological Survey dhanes@usgs.gov
Harris, Courtney VIMS ckharris@vims.edu
Hayter, Earl EPA Hayter.Earl@epamail.epa.gov
Hetland, Rob Texas A & M hetland@tamu.edu
Hill, Mary U.S. Geological Survey mchill@usgs.gov
James, Scott Sandia National Labs scjames@sandia.gov
Ji, Jeff Minerals Management Service Jeff.Ji@mms.gov
Kirby, Jim University of Delaware kirby@udel.edu
Kniskern, Tara VIMS knista@vims.edu
Lacy, Jessie U.S. Geological Survey jlacy@usgs.gov
Lavoie, Dawn U.S. Geological Survey dlavoie@usgs.gov
Lee, Cheegwan NOAA cheegwan.lee@noaa.gov
Lesser, Giles WL | Deflt Hydraulics glesser@usgs.gov
Li, Yuepeng VIMS yli@vims.edu
Lin, Jing VIMS jlin@vims.edu
Maa, Jerome VIMS maa@vims.edu
Madsen, Ole MIT osm@MIT.edu
Margvelashvili, Nugzar CSIRO Marine Research Labs Nugzar.Margvelashvili@csiro.au
Miller, Herman U.S. Army Corps of Engineers herman.miller@erdc.usace.army.mil
Plant, Nathaniel Naval Research Lab nplant@nrlssc.navy.mil
Reed, Chris URS Corporation Chris_Reed@URSCorp.com
Sanford, Larry University of Maryland lsanford@hpl.umces.edu
Schubert, Chris U.S. Geological Survey schubert@usgs.gov
Scully, Malcolm VIMS mscully@vims.edu
Sherwood, Chris U.S. Geological Survey csherwood@usgs.gov
Shi, Fengyan University of Delaware fyshi@coastal.udel.edu
Shrestha, Pravi Hydroqual pshrestha@hydroqual.com
Smith, Jim U.S. Geological Survey jdsmith@usgs.gov
Souza, Alejandro Proudman Oceanographic Lab ajso@pol.ac.uk
Taghon, Gary Rutgers TAGHON@MARINE.RUTGERS.edu
Trembanis, Art VIMS art@vims.edu
Wang, Harry VIMS wang@vims.edu
Warner, John U.S. Geological Survey jcwarner@usgs.gov
Wiberg, Patricia University of Virginia pw3c@humboldt.evsc.virginia.edu
Wright, Don VIMS wright@vims.edu

Back to top

Working Group Presentations

Back to top

Contacts

For more information, contact:
Chris Sherwood, U. S. Geological Survey (csherwood@usgs.gov)
+1 508 457 2269
+1 508 457 2310 (fax)
Rocky Geyer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (rgeyer@whoi.edu)
+1 508 289 2868
+1 508 457 2194 (fax)
Courtney Harris, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (ckharris@vims.edu)
+1 804 684 7194

back to top